Stellenbosch University Annual Convocation Meeting Wednesday, 9 December 2020 at 18:00 (SAST)

1. Welcoming

Dr Leslie van Rooi, acting President of the Convocation, begins the proceedings. There are only 129 people in the meeting. A quorum of 250 Convocation members must be reached within 30 minutes in order to hold a proper meeting. While the members are still joining, the acting president welcomes the members to the first online meeting of the Convocation.

Due to the pandemic, only an online meeting was possible. 760 members of the Convocation from 26 countries rsvp'd to join the meeting. The meeting will be conducted in both Afrikaans and English and a recording of the meeting will be made available to the members after the meeting.

In the future, as stated in the Statute, we will be hosting hybrid meetings that will give members from all over the world the opportunity to engage and participate in the Convocation meeting.

2. Agenda and notice

A notice of the meeting, with the <u>agenda</u> was sent to members on 12 November 2020.

3. Speakers who will address the meeting

- a. Vice-Chancellor and Rector Prof Wim de Villiers
- b. Newly-elected Chancellor Justice Edwin Cameron
- c. Convocation Award for Exceptional Community Service (Ms Esterbeth Singels will hand over the award)

4. Convocation Award for Exceptional Community Service

This award is given annually to a Convocation member who makes a real positive impact in the community. This year Ms Esterbeth Singels awarded the award to Jeanerette Momberg for her work and various initiatives in the greater Stellenbosch area.

5. Report by Prof De Villiers

As the Convocation is tasked in the Statute to promote the well-being of SU, Prof De Viliers gives an overview of how the Universities are doing and shares the University's successes. SU has had a particularly successful year behind it despite numerous challenges.

6. Quorum

30 minutes into the meeting there is still not a quorum. In terms of paragraph 50(8)¹ of the <u>SU Statute</u> and the <u>mandate of the Convocation</u> paragraph 5.6 (a)² the Chairperson postpone the meeting for 5 minutes and the declares the meeting quorate and duly constituted. The members present forms the quorum.

7. Previous minutes

No minutes were received from the previous Secretary, who has since resigned.

8. Overview of the year by the Chairman

¹ If for any reason there is no quorum within half an hour after the scheduled time for the meeting, the chairperson for that meeting must postpone it to a time and date not more than 14 days later, at which meeting the members present form a quorum.

² If there is no quorum within half an hour after the scheduled time for the meeting, the Chairperson for the meeting must postpone the meeting to a time and date not more than 14 days later, at which meeting the members who are present form a quorum.

Share an overview of the year on alumni events, the impact of the alumni, the <u>Convocation documents</u>, the University and the Role of the Alumni. Thank the University's Development and Alumni Relations Division for all the opportunities offered and for all the arrangements in this regard.

9. Message from the Chancellor as Keynote Speaker

COVID-19 provided a lot of challenges and had a severe impact on several lives. Stellenbosch University is congratulated for its response to the pandemic and for overcoming the challenges to continue with learning and teaching and research under difficult circumstances. Inclusivity is extremely important and should be practiced. The Convocation should treasure the University.

10. Election results

In terms of Chapter 4 of the SU Statute as published in the Government Gazette the objective of the Convocation is to promote the welfare of the University by maintaining a mutually beneficial relationship between the University and the members of the Convocation, and may advise the Council, and the Senate when applicable, in this respect. The Executive of the Convocation assist the Convocation to achieve this objective and performance of its functions.

During the online election, a total of 9 877 votes were cast for the three vacant positions. The Registrar thanks all members who participated in the election.

Total number of votes received:

- 3 380 for President
- 3 397 for Secretary
- 3 100 for an additional member

The President of the Convocation is Adv Jan C Heunis with 1 900 votes. The Secretary is Frederik R van Dyk with 1 444 votes and the additional member is Merlyn van der Rheede with 1 211 votes.

The Registrar confirms that the full SU Convocation Executive Committee is:

Adv Jan C Heunis (President)

Dr Leslie van Rooi (Vice-President)

Mr Frederick R van Dyk (Secretary)

Ms Esterbeth Singels and Merlyn van der Rheede (Other members)

11. Closing

Dr Van Rooi thanks everyone for their attendance. The meeting concludes with a performance by the SU Choir.

Video recording of the meeting.